Modern homelessness: The poor in the midst of the posh.

I am so thankful that I decided months ago to make the New York Times the homepage on my web browser. Everyday I get the chance to look at the top world news and interesting stories, when I usually live under a rock, completely unaware of what’s going on in the world. Today, this story was on the homepage and grabbed my attention. Over the past few years, I’ve learned more about the homeless population – in the nation generally and in Des Moines specifically.

A year ago fall, I took a trip to New York City with a group from the college of design to visit graphic design firms and explore the city. I saw a bit of poverty and homelessness, but had no way to process it – there was so much of everything that it was overwhelming. This article dove into the story of one child and broke my heart. NYC is full of rich, entrepreneurial professionals with two mansions and a lake house. It astounds me that the world’s brokenness is as evident as more than 22,000 homeless children in “the city that never sleeps”.

These are the kind of stories that help me keep my pride in check, help me look at the things I own and the things I do and spotlight what truly matters.

Leave a Reply

