Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien is most likely my favorite restaurant. I discovered it on the streets of New York City one morning and was instantly inspired when I walked in the door. This was during the time of the trip when I had completely lost my voice, so I ordered a pot of tea along with scrambled tofu. (which was delicious!) We sat at light washed wooden tables, and could smell the bread they were baking behind the counters. I realized that ordering a pot of tea meant you quite literally got a pot of tea along with a tea cup. Yet, with a scratchy sore throat, the pot was emptied in no time. The atmosphere and quality of food is the reason behind my decision of naming this restaurant/bakery my favorite. It inspired me to look further into recipes using more vegetables and whole foods.

Today was a bit of a reflection day. I spent time doing homework and then spent time thinking about life things – today being a day where I thought about what kinds of foods I want to start making and what foods I really enjoy. Too often I purchase foods that I kind of like or don’t really like, when I should purchase foods that I truly love to eat! So far this summer spinach, greek yogurt, sprouts, kefir, tea, and snow peas have all become staples. I’ve collected photos of food I enjoy and meals I want to make this coming semester.

Morning Coffee

Morning Coffee

 

Strawberries

Strawberries

Antioxidant Power Muffins

Antioxidant Power Muffins
Bread

Bread

Multigrain Porridge

Multigrain Porridge

Quinoa Falafels with Tahini Sauce

Quinoa Falafels with Tahini Sauce

Rustic Fig and Goat Cheese Pizza

Rustic Fig and Goat Cheese Pizza

Peachy Corn Succotash Tacos with Lentil Basil Slaw

Peachy Corn Succotash Tacos with Lentil Basil Slaw

 

Blackberry Cardamom Crostata

Blackberry Cardamom Crostata

 

