Lately

This last week has been like a breath of fresh air. The semester is winding down and summer is coming up fast. I’m glad that the weather is finally steady and warm. My first instinct was to wear a cardigan outside to my final this morning and I was surprised that it was so warm, there was no need for one!
These last few weekends have been filled with great people and memorable times. 2 weekends ago was KJs bridal shower, Kristin’s CD release, and Morgan’s bridal shower.

KJ's bridal shower

KJ’s bridal shower
(lemon macaroons are the best!)

This weekend was great as well. Sunday Zach and I     went on a walk. We ended up finding a bridge and sat by the water to talk and throw/”skip” rocks. It was a wonderful time! Later in the afternoon Ashley had her bridal shower. Most of the people there were people I knew and appreciated, so it was refreshing for us all to be in one place to chat and spend time together.

Lately, I’ve been thinking about discipline. I’ve noticed the lack of it in certain areas in my life and I am now determined to learn more about it and to readily incorporate the things I learn. I find I struggle most in the ares of daily reading scripture and personal exercise as well as finances and a constant involvement and contribution to the things that I am involved in. Any help/book suggestions/bible verses concerning this would be much appreciated!

Because I have had so much extra time this week for studying, I found myself asking “What do I like to do for fun?” I mean…fun? Such an odd concept when you’re a full time student with a job and a few extracurriculars. Most times, I never think about having fun, thus I get burnt out by the monotony of daily life. I’ve already decided that starting now, I will have more FUN. These are the things that I love to do:

  • Art Galleries
  • Bike Rides
  • Exploring “downtown” areas and nearby parks
  • Painting
  • Music of all kinds
  • Reading
  • Baking new things
  • Trying new things that are out of my comfort zone (though I am initially apprehensive)
  • Roadtrips!
  • Little kids
  • Visiting gardens/flower gardens/butterfly gardens
  • Film Festivals
  • Random community events
  • Hiking/trail running

After reading through my list, I don’t seem too spontaneous, and I’m probably not. But I’m just fine with that : ]

Leave a Reply

