The Rain

As I am sitting on my porch, watching the rain and the storm, I am completely in awe of my Father. I can not believe how much He has blessed me. A lovely house in which I can bless others by hosting them. An amazing community of girls. He is constantly putting people in my life that encourage and challenge me.
I absolutely adore nature. The work that God spoke into being. Can you believe that He decided to speak all of these amazing things into being, yet He formed us with his hands? His love for us is unhindered. It’s wild.

rainskyI like to have a firm grasp on my life. I like to fit everything into a pretty envelope, not allowing for surprises or a change of events. Yet, this isn’t reality. Things happen, expectations shattered, people leave, people come, pain suffocates us. And when things seem disorienting, I cling to my Father. It’s comforting to be able to run directly to Him and be met with open arms, completely safe. Everything that happens in my life leads me back to my Father. I have no doubt that He is the only one that holds my true, unwavering attention. Today is one of the very precious days that I am brought to my knees. fresh

I am enjoying this weather so much. I wake up and it smells amazing! (because we have all our windows open) It reminds me of when I was younger and we would shut off the air conditioning in the spring/early summer and leave the house open. It was a freeing feeling – letting the fresh air filter in made it feel like you were outside all the time. I would explore the hills and pasture by my house. It was my favorite thing. I would map out where I walked and try to find geodes in the creek. I did succeed quite a few times! When I think of exploring, I think of God. When I think of rain, wind, lightning, thunder, and sky…I think of God. It is incredible how God uses nature to capture my heart. Ahh, I marvel at the Lord’s grace.

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

