“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.”

I lived on a farm growing up. When I went outside, I could spin around and all my eyes would see was land my dad owned. Which only meant one thing: adventuring.

My sense of wonder as a child was innate. Lists filled notebooks in my room. There was a list of things I wanted to do: go hiking, go camping, swim, run, paint a house, search for geodes, build a chair, draw, eat strawberries from my mom’s garden, take photographs, study bird species, read the “A” encyclopedia, create my own line of clothing. There was a list of things I wanted to be: a carpenter, an artist, a therapist. As I’ve grown, these lists have continued. What I’ve found is that, in my eyes, they don’t look very different. I want to go trail running, run races, take more photographs, go hiking, go canoeing, print my own shirts, make abstract paintings, tie die random articles of clothing, write songs, make a model sail boat, plant a garden, open a store on etsy, be a warrior for justice. I want to be an artist, a licensed social worker, an entrepreneur, a linguist, a worshipper.

On this journey of self-discovery, a time of embracing what makes me who I am and building my life around the things that bring joy and life, sometimes I feel as if I’m “in the cave”. It’s just me and my Father. When He convicts me to break habits that are distractions, it isn’t difficult because I barely see what I’ll be missing. What I’m gaining is so much sweeter. No matter what, He is my constant. He is my safe haven – the one place I can always go to and feel completely at home.

I’m finding that caring less about what people think about me goes hand in hand with increased realization of the fact that I am a daughter of God. I am co-heirs with Christ. This changes so much. No longer do I have to strive to do things to prove anything to anyone. I don’t have to worry about where I’ll be in five years or ten or twenty. I don’t have to worry about not being good enough, not knowing enough, not being prepared enough. I don’t have to think about whether my clothes have holes, or what I will eat next, or where I will live, or how much money I have. If I am reining with the King, my home has completely shifted from the world to the Presence. And if he is my home, in Him I will find love, acceptance, freedom, security, boldness, and protection against ALL things.

“Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him; I will protect him, because he knows my name. When he calls to me, I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will rescue him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him and show him my salvation.” Psalm 91:14-16

“Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” John 8:32

“One thing I ask of the LORD, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple.” Psalm 27:4

Leave a Reply

