The Simplicity of Love

Lately, I’ve been overcome with a craving for simplicity. I want to get rid of most of my things. I have this slightly impossible goal (being a design student) to eventually have just enough things to fill a suitcase and that would be enough. I don’t want the “american dream”, I just want to live in love, though I feel like I’m on the very edge of even starting to discover what this could look like.

Usually I walk to class in the morning in a drone-like state, with it being 7:30 a.m. This morning instead of being lost in thoughts of what I had to do today, I just enjoyed the walk and admired the beauty of this earth. Last night at the human trafficking prayer group, we read the whole book of Habakkuk. The nations are drowning in turmoil: earthquakes, economic downfall, drug trafficking, human trafficking, and the list just keeps going. Sin is here, therefore disorder also exists. But, time and time again God leaves a remnant. “Even so then at this present time also there is a remnant according to the election of grace.” Romans 11:5  So this morning, when I was in awe of the beauty of nature – the beauty of what God has done – in the midst of everything else going on, it reminded me that in the chaos of everything in this world, my Father cares for me.

I think that’s why lately I’ve wanted to shed so many material things. None of it matters. All that matters is love.

Leave a Reply

